NIKE ON INSTAGRAM: THEMES OF BRANDED CONTENT AND THEIR ENGAGEMENT POWER

Carmen Balan

Abstract


Instagram is the fastest developing new media of high interest to marketers. As at December 21, 2016, the community included 600 million Instagrammers. This paper explores the problem of whether various themes of branded content differ significantly in their engagement power (ability to generate likes, views, and comments). The methodological approach consists of online monitoring of content in posts of a leading brand, Nike, for its 17 verified-badge Instagram accounts. The study focused on posts during the month of February 2017. The chi-square goodness of fit test (for one variable) was applied in the data analysis stage of the research. The initial hypothesis of significant differences between branded content themes as regards their engagement power was accepted. The practical implications of these findings for marketers include better selection of brand messages for Instagrammers and an increase in engagement levels

Keywords


Instagram, branded content, engagement, likes, views, comments, followers

Full Text:

PDF

References


Beukeboom, C.J., Kerkhoff, P., & de Vries M. (2015). Does a Virtual Like Cause Actual Liking? How Following a Brand's Facebook Updates Enhances Brand Evaluations and Purchase Intention. Journal of Interactive Marketing, 32, 26-36. doi: 10.1016/j.intmar.2015.09.003

Chauhan, K., & Pillai, A. (2013). Role of content strategy in social media brand communities: A case of higher education institutes in India. Journal of Product and Brand Management, 22(1), 40-51. doi:10.1108/10610421311298687

Coelho, R.L.F., de Oliveira, D.S., & de Almeida, M.I.S. (2016). Does social media matter for post typology? Impact of post content on Facebook and Instagram metrics. Online Information Review, 40(4), 458 – 471. doi:10.1108/OIR-06-2015-0176

De Vries, L., Gensler, S., & Leeflang, P.S.H. (2012). Popularity of brand posts on brand fan pages: An investigation of the effects of social media marketing. Journal of Interactive Marketing, 26(2), 83-91. doi:10.1016/j.intmar.2012.01.003

Euromonitor International. (2016). Apparel and Footwear. Nike Inc. Passport. Retrieved from http://www.portal.euromonitor.com/portal/analysis/tab#

Gensler, S., Volckner, F., Liu-Thompkins, Y., & Wiertz, C. (2013). Managing Brands in the Social Media Environment. Journal of Interactive Marketing, 27(4), 242-256. doi: 10.1016/j.intmar.2013.09.004

Gonzalez, M.A. (2015). Las redes sociales como canal de comunicación de las marcas de moda españolas. El caso de Zara, Mango y El Corte Inglés. index l comunicación, 5(1), 77-105.

Instagram. (2010, October 6). Instagram Launches. Retrieved from https://instagram-press.com/2010/10/06/instagram-launches-2/

Instagram. (2016, December 21). 600 Million and Counting. Retrieved from https://instagram-press.com/2016/12/21/600-million-and-counting/

Interbrand. (2016). Best Global Brands 2016 Rankings. Retrieved from http://interbrand.com/best-brands/best-global-brands/2016/ranking/

Jahn, B., & Kunz, W. (2012). How to transform consumers into fans of your brand. Journal of Service Management, 23(3), 344-361. doi:10.1108/09564231211248444

Lee, E., Lee, J.A., Moon, J.H., & Sung, Y. (2015). Pictures Speak Louder than Words: Motivations for Using Instagram. Cyberpsychology Behavior and Social Networking, 18(9), 552-556. doi:10.1089/cyber.2015.0157

Luarn, P., Lin, Y.-F., & Chiu, Y.-P. (2015). Influence of Facebook brand-page posts on online engagement. Online Information Review, 39(4), 505-519. doi:10.1108/OIR-01-2015-0029

Malhotra, N.K. (2010). Marketing research: An applied orientation: Global Edition. 6th edition. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson Education.

Nike. (2017, March 19). nike. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nike/

Nike Baseball. (2017, March 19). nikebaseball. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikebaseball/

Nike Basketball. (2017, March 19). nikebasketball. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikebasketball/

Nike Court. (2017, March 19). nikecourt. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikecourt/

Nike Football (Soccer). (2017, March 19). nikefootball. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikefootball/

Nike Golf. (2017, March 19). nikegolf. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikegolf/

Nike Lab. (2017, March 19). Nikelab. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikelab/

Nike London. (2017, March 19). nikelondon. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikelondon/

Nike Los Angeles. (2017, March 19). nikelosangeles. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikelosangeles/

Nike New York City. (2017, March 19). nikenyc. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikenyc/

Nike+ Run Club. (2017, March 19). Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikerunning/

Nike Rio. (2017, March 19). nikerio. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikerio/

Nike SB Australia. (2017, March 19). nikesbau. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikesb

Nike Skateboarding. (2017, March 19). nikesb. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikesb/

Nike Sportswear. (2017, March 19). nikeportswear. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikesportswear/

Nike Toronto. (2017, March 19). niketoronto. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/niketoronto/

Nike+ Training Club. (2017, March 19). niketraining. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/niketraining/

Nike Women. (2017, March 19). nikewomen. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikewomen/

Nike Young Athletes. (2017, March 19). nikeyoungathletes. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/nikeyoungathletes/

Tafesse, W. (2015). Content strategies and audience response on Facebook brand pages. Marketing Intelligence & Planning, 33(6). 927-943. doi:10.1108/MIP-07-2014-0135

Taylor, D.G., Lewin, J.E., & Strutton, D. (2011). Friends, fans, and followers: Do ads work on social networks? How gender and age shape receptivity. Journal of Advertising Research, 51(1), 258-275. doi:10.2501/JAR-51-1-258-275

US Nike Football. (2017, March 19). usnikefootball. Retrieved from https://www.instagram.com/usnikefootball/

Yuki, T. (2015). What Makes Brands’ Social Content Shareable on Facebook? An Analysis that Demonstrates The Power of Online Trust and Attention. Journal of Advertising Research, 55(4), 458-470. doi:10.2501/JAR-2015-026

Wolny, J., & Mueller, C. (2013). Analysis of fashion consumers’ motives to engage in electronic word-of-mouth communication through social media platforms. Journal of Marketing Management, 29(5-6), 562-583. doi:10.1080/0267257X.2013.778324




DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.12955/cbup.v5.894

Refbacks

  • There are currently no refbacks.


Print ISSN 1805-997X, Online ISSN 1805-9961

(c) 2016 Central Bohemia University